Knowledgebase
6.1 Sharing a Notebook, folder, page, or single entry
Posted by Johan Isoz on 04 May 2017 12:49 PM
All content in your notebook can be shared with others. You can share with anyone else who has an email address and/or internet connection, whether or not they already have a LabArchives account.  

LabArchives allows you to share

  • an entry
  • a page
  • a folder
  • an entire notebook

For more information on who can share and other privileges see Users' Roles and Privileges.

 

Using the Share Feature:

You can access the share feature in 3 different ways. You can "right click" on the notebook, folder or page. That will open up a menu that looks like this:

 

Press the share icon   on the Page Tools bar and this will allow you to share the whole page.

 

If you only want to share a specific entry, you can access the share function by hovering over the entry to view the entry toolbar where you will see the gear   icon.  Click on the gear to view more editing options and then click on share

 

Regardless if you are sharing a Notebook, folder, page or an entry, when you access the share link, the Share dialog box will pop up on the screen giving you a variety of options

 

 Note the tabs at the top:

  • The "Invite People" tab allows you to share notebook content via an email invite. On this tab, you can input the email address or addresses of those you want to share with, add your own subject, and create your own message for the share email. Choose if you want them "To edit" or "To view" below the box for the email address.

 

  • The tab "Groups or People with Access", shows you all the people with whom you have shared the selected content and what their rights are (can view or can edit). You may also change the rights of anyone you've shared content within this tab. Within this tab, you also have the option to make your selected shared content publicly accessible by anyone (use this in conjunction with the URL to Share tab). Simply check the box within this tab.

 

When you have shared a notebook, folder, page or an entry, a different icon is shown to indicate which Folders and Pages are shared:

Unshared Folder:  

Shared Folder:      

Unshared Page:    

Shared Page:        

 

MOST INCLUSIVE PRIVILEGES WIN RULE:

It's important to know that, if you have created groups, you cannot apply less inclusive rights to a specific member of the group.

What this means is that, if I give a group read/edit privileges, but I want a specific member of the group to have read-only rights, I will not be able to arrange this. This is because the more inclusive read/edit rights win over the less inclusive read-only rights. 

Note: Make sure that, if you create a group, you are prepared for every member of that group to have the rights you give it. You will not be able to restrict the rights of a specific group member further.

 

(5 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)