Knowledgebase
8.10 Users' Roles and Privileges
Posted by Johan Isoz on 22 October 2017 12:24 PM

Manage Users' Role and Privileges

 

As the Owner (or Administrator) of a LabArchives notebook, you can grant others access to the entire notebook via the User Managment page (under the “Notebook Settings” menu) as well as manage current member privileges.

 

When adding new users their Role will by default be set to "User" with full access by default if you have a paid account.  If you have a free trial account they will be set to Guests.

 

On this page, you can change anyone’s role to Guest (eg. a departing lab member who you wish to retain free read-only access) or to Administrator/User provided you have available paid licenses/seats. You can also  "Transfer Ownership" to someone you have added (eg. your PI or project leader).

 

If you have created custom Groups for your account in addition to the default Full Access group, you can select the Group Membership for any person by clicking that field.  See the "Group management" article to learn more about this feature.

 

What are the differences between roles?

 




NOTE:  

  • Each notebook can have only 1 Owner, but there can be multiple Administrators, Users, and Guests.
  • If you want someone to have access to only one section of your notebook, we recommend you share only that portion of the notebook. See the article on Sharing your Notebook for more information.
(3 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)