Posted by Johan Isoz on 09 May 2017 03:52 PM
The comments feature can be used by collaborators who have access to a common LabArchives page or entry to record content-specific notes. Comments are not intended to be a permanent part of the Notebook itself. Comments can also be deleted at any time without it being logged in the revision history. Once deleted, a comment can not be retrieved. See "Important Notes" at the bottom of the page for more user specific limitation.
As long as Comments are enabled at the time of sharing an entry, page or folder, every entry in LabArchives will have a Comment icon when you hover with your mouse over the entry.
If there are no Comments currently related to the entry, the cloud icon will appear as shown below:
Once Comment has been made on an entry, the icon will include a number indicating the number of associated Comments:
Clicking on this icon will display all Comments - including the name of the person, time & date - and enable you to enter additional ones or to edit those previously posted.
The Activity Feed feature - accessible via the Utility menu - allows a LabArchives user to quickly identify all comments made - either by a User, in a Notebook, or an Account. As
Important note: Unlike an actual entry (such as text, images or any type of attachments), and as mentioned before, comments are not a permanent part of the notebook. These can be added, edited and deleted at any time without it being logged in the revision history. Once deleted, a comment can not be retrieved.
For Classroom Edition users there is an exception: Instructors & TAs may leave comments in student's notebooks and vice versa, however, comments left by the instructor can not be removed by the student. Comments left by the student for the instructor can be removed by both the student and the instructor.
It's also possible to add a comment to a signed page.