Knowledgebase
10.6 Grading
Posted by Patrick Callahan on 15 June 2017 09:21 AM

After students have submitted their assignment, you will receive a notification at the top right hand corner of the LabArchives page and in the course manager that an assignment has been submitted for grading.  

Accessing Students’ Notebooks

In the course manager,  under the “Students” tab, each student that has activated a notebook, taken some action in the notebook, or has submitted an assignment will have the following icons displayed in the view column of the student list:

 

You can mouse over each icon to see information on what the icon represents. This icon  is the Assignment icon.  If it has a red badge with a number, it indicates the number of unread assignments the student has submitted.  You can access the student’s notebook by clicking on that icon, or by clicking on the notebook icon.

Once you click on either icon, you will be taken to the student’s notebook in the Assignment Navigator.
 

At the top of the student’s notebook you will see the Assignment navigation tool.  This tool allows you to navigate from student to student within a specific course and section (if applicable) for a specified assignment.  You can also view different assignments within a course for a given student.  



S
tudent names:  This field allows you to navigate student notebooks in your course. You can click on the next or previous buttons (students are listed in alphabetical order) or you can click on the drop-down arrow to see the list of all the students in the course (in the specified section, if applicable).

Go to assignment:  This field allows you to select an assignment for a specific course for a selected student.  Click on the arrow in the Go to assignment field to see a drop-down list of assignments if there are more than one

Assignment Status: Once you select an assignment in the “Go to Assignment” filter, you are able to filter your students based on their Assignment Status. You can filter your students by each assignment status option: Assigned to Student, Submitted to Instructor, and Graded. By selecting “Submitted to Instructor” for a select assignment, you will be able to quickly see all the students that have submitted the assignment for grading.  Once you grade the assignment the student is no longer on the list.  This feature allows you to quickly assess the status of the assignment for each student.

Course:  If you have more than one course, you can switch to another course which will change the list of students, sections, and assignments that can be viewed within the Assignment navigation tool.  

Section:  This allows you to view students in “All sections”, “No sections” (use when some students are not assigned to a section while others are), or specific sections you have created for your course.  If no sections were created for your course, this field will not display.  Note: TAs will only see “My Section” when they are assigned to a section of the course.

 

Grading with the Assignment Entry

When you have navigated to the assignment to be graded, the Assignment Entry will look like this:


In the Grade field, put in a numerical or alphabetical value and then click on the button.

 

Click on the button if you want to send the assignment back to the student for edits. The assignment entry will go back to its assigned status. However, if you have already graded the assignment, click on the pencil edit icon to access the “Re-assign to Student” option.

 

Grading an Assignment Submitted from a Group

When an assignment has been submitted as a group, you will see the group members this student selected, on the “I worked in a group with” line.  You will also see the notebook the student selected on “The work for this assignment is in” line.

Note: These two fields are self-selected by each student in the group.

To assign a grade, navigate to one student in the group, put in a numerical or alphabetical value in the Grade field and click on the button.

You can grade the other group member(s) by clicking on the name of the student in the “I worked in a group with” field and repeating the assigning a grade process.

The other option for applying the same grade to the entire group after you assign a grade to one group member, is to click on the button.

 

If you have already assigned a grade to other students in the group, you will receive the following message:

 

If you want all group members to have the same grade click on the Overwrite button, if not click Cancel.

 

When you select the Assign Grade to Group button or Overwrite button, you will see that grade was successfully assigned to the group

 

 

Viewing Grades

You can access your students’ grades in the Course Manager. This is located in the Course Manager, under the “Edit Students’ and Teaching Assistants” section, under the Grades Tab.

You are able to export your grades to a CSV or PDF file

If you would like to provide a guide for your students on how they can submit an assignment and view their grades, click here - How to Submit an Assignment (Students Only)

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)