The Notebook Manager allows you to organize all the notebooks to which you have access. From the Notebook Manager, you can choose which notebooks will and will not appear in the notebook navigator, you can remove yourself from notebooks or delete a notebook, and you can clone any notebook you own. It is accessed via the triple-bar icon as shown below:
When opened, your Notebook Manager should look something like this:
The non-interactive parts of this table show each notebook's name, your role in that notebook, the number of actions you've taken in that notebook, and the time of the last activity you took in that notebook.
The interactive parts of the table are the: include, open, delete, and clone columns.
- Unchecking any "Include?" box in the "Include in Navigator" column removes it from the Notebook Navigator. This is especially useful for instructors who share large numbers of notebooks and don't want to wade through them when finding their own in the Navigator.
- The "Open" column simply contains links that open the given notebook in a new tab.
- The "Delete" column allows you to remove yourself from notebooks you don't own, and it allows you to delete notebooks you do own.
- A Site Admin for an institution with a Site license can disable the ability to delete notebooks.
- Notebooks that are deleted remain in the trash for 30 days. After this, the notebook is deleted permanently. You must be sure you no longer need a notebook before you delete it.
- A notebook may be recovered before the 30 day period ends from the Notebook Manager. When you delete a notebook, the "Notebook Dumpster" panel will appear below the Notebook Manager's main panel. Within the Notebook Dumpster, all notebooks that have been deleted but have not expired are displayed. Each notebook has its own "undelete" button, which allows you to restore the notebook.
- The "Clone" column allows you to clone a notebook. This can be done by clicking the "clone button" for a particular notebook in the notebook Manager.
- You may only do this for notebooks you own.
- Cloned notebooks will appear exactly as the original, including a duplicate revisions history for all items in the notebook.
- The only difference between the clone and the original will be that the clone has "- copy" added at the end of its name. Ex) A clone of the Biochemistry 300 notebook would be "Biochemistry 300 - copy".