Knowledgebase
9.02.4 How Students Access their LabArchives Notebooks and Submit Assignment
Posted by Katrina Vuong on 29 August 2019 12:35 PM

How Students Access their LabArchives Notebook 

If your LabArchives course is linked to Canvas, students will click through a Canvas assignment to access their LabArchives Notebook. To learn how to link your LabArchives Assignments to Canvas, click here.

Students can access their LabArchives course notebook via Canvas by clicking on an assignment in Canvas. Once students click on an Assignment via Canvas, they will also be added to your course in the LabArchives Course Manager. 

 

Once the student has clicked on an Assignment in Canvas they will see their LabArchives notebook either within Canvas page or in a separate page depending on the Canvas settings. 

 

How to Submit an Assignment 

  

When a student is ready to submit their assignment, they will need to click on the  button. 

If the student is submitting an individual assignment, all they need to do is click on the  button. 

Note: If you have the locking feature turned on for your course, once the student clicks Submit, the page will be locked as seen below. The student will no longer be able to edit the page any further until the instructor or TA(s) unlocks the page. 

For each assignment, the student will need to select each corresponding assignment through Canvas before submitting. If the student clicks on another assignment within LabArchives and tries to submit, they will see the following message. 


If the student is submitting their assignment with group members, they are able to indicate their group member(s) and select where the work is located among the group. It is important for each student in the group to click through to the assignment via Canvas to be included in grading.  


 

  • I worked in a group with - Once you click on the field, a list of all the students in that section will appear, and they are able to select their group member(s). 
  • The work for this assignment is in - The students submitting the assignment are able to indicate where their work for the assignment is- in their own notebook or in their group member’s notebook. 
  • Note: The two group fields are self-select fields. It is possible for students in the same group to select different group members as well as different notebooks. 

Each student in the group will need to submit the same assignment in their own course notebook with the two fields filled out. 

Note: If you have the locking feature turned on for your course, once the student clicks Submit, the page will be locked as seen below. The student will no longer be able to edit the page any further until the instructor or TA(s) unlocks the page. 

If the student wants to save their group information before submitting their assignment, they can click on the  button. 


For more information about grading, click here.

 

(2 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful